The Iceland Gull at Swannie ponds Dundee

I’d had word and seen pictures of this bird at The Swannie Ponds in Dundee but no matter how often I looked on the way past, I’d never seen it. However, this morning on my way to one of my construction sites, there he was as bold as brass sitting on a lighting pole.

Iceland Gull

Iceland Gull

I had brought a couple of bits of bread to see if I could entice him closer, which he did do but the Black-headed gulls kind of got in before him every time. It was actually quite good watching how adept the gulls were in the air at catching thrown bits of bread. I only wish I’d had someone to throw whilst I took the pics.

Iceland Gull and 2 black-headed gulls

Iceland Gull and 2 black-headed gulls

 

Posted on March 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Literary fiction by Sam McColl

I'm a literary novelist. I'll be musing on everything related and unrelated...

Scottish Wild Beavers

Wild Beavers in Scotland, supported by the Scottish Wild Beaver Group (SCIO) SCO42626

Loch of the Lowes Wildlife Blog

Perthshire is a wonderous place full of amazing wildlife and incredible scenery, read about all my wanderings around Big Tree county and I hope I inspire you to follow some of my walks and hopefully you will share the same sights that I have encountered :-)

Wildlife Detective

The blog of Alan Stewart

