A windy day in East Perthshie

I went for a wee daunder today around the Newtyle rail walk network and I must admit I loved it as for once I wasn’t ankle deep in mud! There was a lot of birdsong despite the damp weather but unfortunately I only managed to get this guy, saying that I was well chuffed at that. He was singing his wee heart out and I must it admit it lifted the spirits

Mistle Thrush

Song Thrush

Mistle Thrush

Song Thrush

So after a brief walk, and I WILL be back, a return to Blair. Having packed the rest of the crew off to Perth I thought I’d pop down to the Whiteloch to see if I could get the Kingfisher.  I wasn’t expecting too much as the wind had really picked up but I saw him after 2 minutes of my arrival. However, just as I was setting the camera to take a picture, a lad and his dog spooked him!  He only moved 20 yds or so though and “I’ll get him now” I thought, but typical of my luck, a blooming sparrowhawk came winging through the bushes and scared everything off, and needless to say I got a picture of neither.

I thought I’d hang about a wee bit though and I’m glad I did as I got this wee cutie

Goldcest

Goldcest

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

So all in all it wasn’t too bad a day. Away to have a beer and watch the rugby now, come on Scotland 🙂

Posted on March 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Literary fiction by Sam McColl

I'm a literary novelist. I'll be musing on everything related and unrelated...

Scottish Wild Beavers

Wild Beavers in Scotland, supported by the Scottish Wild Beaver Group (SCIO) SCO42626

Loch of the Lowes Wildlife Blog

Perthshire is a wonderous place full of amazing wildlife and incredible scenery, read about all my wanderings around Big Tree county and I hope I inspire you to follow some of my walks and hopefully you will share the same sights that I have encountered :-)

Wildlife Detective

The blog of Alan Stewart

