Bits and Bobs over the last month

Well, the last month or so has been a trying one to say the least but I won’t dwell on that. Thankfully I have been able to focus on more positive things such as the local wildlife. This post is going to be a bit helter-skelter as far as dates are concerned but hopefully you will enjoy it.

As usual, I have been following my local family of beavers and it is really pleasing to note that all 4 animals have pulled through the wet winter we have had, even wee Pip the young kit we caught last year seems to have flourished. The floods we had down at the Ericht were almost Biblical in proportion, with the river totally bursting her banks and on top of the flood bank, there was a sea of water 2ft deep. On one such evening I decided to venture down with my waders and have a look. Sure enough the river was trully awesome and no chance of seeing the beaver family……..how wrong could I be? There, under the bridge at my feet were 2 adult beavers sheltering in the lade away from the torrent that was the Ericht. Too dark for photos but pleasing to see them anyway.

As the days went by I managed to get out and about to various places. My pal Rhona had given me a shot of a camera with a whopping big lens, so the world was my oyster, or not as the case may be. I don’t think I did the camera justice but you guys can be the judge of that. Anyway, one of the places I have managed to escape to was Balgavies loch, between Forfar and Friockheim. Quality viewing there of the ospreys and the pic below is of the male with a fish. I did tell you the pics weren’t great lol.

Male Osprey

Male Osprey

Right in front of the hide this wee beauty appeared, really chuffed at seeing this up close as well

 

Lesser spotted woodpecker

 Woodpecker

 

There were the usual fare of Chaffinch and tits there as well plus a brief appearance from a Red Squirrel but a group of walkers scared him off before I could get a picture. Other birds on the loch that I spotted were a pair of Gadwal, Greylags (which were getting a hard time from the Osprey), Tufties and Goldeneye among others.

 

Gadwal

Gadwal

 

I had a breif weekend excursion to Lunan Bay where I saw these beautiful Fulmars

Fulmars

Fulmars

Another place I like to visit is Kinnordy and I was lucky enough to see this male Marsh Harrier there.

male Marsh Harrier

male Marsh Harrier

 

He was quartering the reeds for some time before being joined by an Osprey. Typically I was in one hide watching him fly over…..

Osprey

Osprey

then disappear eastward. I then had a wander down to the hide only to discover that I had just missed him catching a fish…..

Osprey eating a fish

Osprey eating a fish

That will be typicalof my luck. However I did get a wee pic of a Goldcrest, gorgeous wee birdies 2nd smallest bird in the UK after the Firecrest I believe

Goldcrest

Goldcrest

Other things spotted were …….

Redshank

Redshank

Wren

Wren

Little Ringed Plover

Little Ringed Plover

Reed Bunting

Reed Bunting

Peacock Butterfly

Peacock Butterfly

So, alll in all,it was a good visit especially the 2 raptors.

Anther place I have been recently was Cockrage moor where I saw these these guys….

Woodpecker

Woodpecker

Meadow Pippit

Meadow Pippit

Whinchat

Whinchat

I was really chuffed at getting the latter, first ever time I had seen one. Also spotted were a small herd of Fallow which are always lovely to see

Fallow

Fallow

I must admit I was disappointed at not seeing any Hen Harriers, but I haven’t seen them on the moor for a couple of years now. Regardless though, it is still a lovely walk.

I popped out to Stormont loch one day with the pup and got this Jay, always a bonus

Jay

Jay

  and a Great Crested Grebe

Great Crested Grebe

Great Crested Grebe

Other sightings this month have been predominately at the river or loch and that is where I’ll end this post, with recent sightings of all things river or loch related and some of my sightings, hope you enjoy

Otter

Otter

Buzzard

Buzzard

The scruffiest Blue Tit you'll ever see

The scruffiest Blue Tit you’ll ever see

Sandpiper

Sandpiper

Moorhen

Moorhen

Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher

Swallow

Swallow

Yellowhammer

Yellowhammer

Kingfisher

Kingfisher

Dipper chick

Dipper chick

A loveable wee Robin

A loveable wee Robin

Mallard Ducklings

Mallard Ducklings

Roe buck

Roe buck

Willow Warbler

Willow Warbler

And the story wouldn’t be complete without a beaver pic or 2…..

Hello.....

Hello…..

Adult beaver

Adult beaver

Tailof a beaver

Tail of a beaver

And the other end ....a yearling beaver

And the other end ….a yearling beaver

Adult Beaver

Adult Beaver

Catch you next time and I’ll try to be a bit more up to date

Posted on May 13, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Literary fiction by Sam McColl

I'm a literary novelist. I'll be musing on everything related and unrelated...

Scottish Wild Beavers

Wild Beavers in Scotland, supported by the Scottish Wild Beaver Group (SCIO) SCO42626

Loch of the Lowes Wildlife Blog

Perthshire is a wonderous place full of amazing wildlife and incredible scenery, read about all my wanderings around Big Tree county and I hope I inspire you to follow some of my walks and hopefully you will share the same sights that I have encountered :-)

Wildlife Detective

The blog of Alan Stewart

