Oot and aboot on the south side of Blair

Today I thought I’d go for a more leisurely wander towards the kettle lochs of Stormont and Hare’s Myre. Kettle lochs are really just glorified dubs (puddles) formed by retreating glaciers. So, firstly I popped down the back steps off Balmoral rd to the river to be pleasantly surprised with a trio of Goosanders, a Grey Heron and a Grey wagtail

Goosanders in flight

Goosanders in flight

Grey Heron

Grey Heron

Grey Heron in flight

Grey Heron in flight

Grey Wagtail

Grey Wagtail

I’m sure this particular Heron is the main culprit for emptying my pond of fish, beggar took my prize carp which was weighing in at 2lb!!!! Hey ho though. After spending a wee bit of time at the river, I ventured along to Davie Park, nothing much doing tbh other than the mallards and this family of Coots

Family of coots

Family of coots

So, southwards I headed along Welton rd, popped down to the river there

Ericht

Ericht

and saw a robin and wagtail having a right go at each other

Robin and Grey Wagtail

Robin and Grey Wagtail

After having a right good look about and watching the pup testing his skills for the doggy olympics

23-08-14 005

I headed towards Brucefield rd. On the way, I saw this young Bullfinch

2014_082928-08-140311

Juvenile Bullfinch

I was actually hoping to see some Roe and squirrels along this section, but though I did see a couple of Roe, my trigger finger wasn’t quick enough on the camera. No squirrels either! So along Golf Course rd I went and saw these wee spuggies

Spuggies

Spuggies

After traveling through the wood at Stormont loch I went to the east end and was chuffed to see this wee Dunnock…….

Dunnock

Dunnock

a wee wren…..

Wren

Wren

a skein of Canada geese overhead…..

Skein of Canada Geese

Skein of Canada Geese

and a Blue tit

Blue Tit

Blue Tit

I really like this edge of the loch as it usually offers up a lot of warblers. I did see a couple of Willow Warblers, but no matter how I tried I couldn’t get a picture. I did get this young Blackcap though….

Juvenile Blackcap

Juvenile Blackcap

Around the loch I went until I got to the south side, to be greeted by the honking of the Canada Geese. Overall there must have been 250-300 birds

Canada Geese & mute swans

Canada Geese & mute swans

Canada Geese

Canada Geese

Along with as many coots as I’ve seen and 100 plus Mute swans

Mute Swans

Mute Swans

and a Great Crested Grebe

Great Crested Grebe

Great Crested Grebe

Traveling west and northwards around the loch there was nothing much else showing face, though the jays were giving it big licks but typically unsighted. From the loch I traveled westwards parallel with the golf course hoping to see a Green Woodpecker

Green Woodpecker

Green Woodpecker

However, not to be on this occasion.

However, there was this tree that had a Greater Spotted Woodpecker in it earlier in the year, it was actually quite funny walking past it, as you could hear the youngsters drumming away inside of it from quite a distance.

23-08-14 032

One other thing in the wood, was a vast and plentiful array of mushrooms and the like, some of them quite spectacular.

23-08-14 041

23-08-14 03523-08-14 031

23-08-14 012

So I headed towards the White Loch, as I was walking I got a great view of Benachally and the hills to the west

Benachally hill

Benachally hill

Other than a few tufties

Tufty

Tufty

there was nothing to see on the loch itself but I did see a wee treecreeper

Treecreeper

Treecreeper

After circling round Darroch and Ardblair woods, I headed up the Weasley rd and saw this Buzzard overhead

Buzzard

Buzzard

I’ve had better pics of a buzzard

Buzzard

Buzzard

 Anyway, homeward bound and I must admit I got a wee bit downhearted when I noticed the changing colours of the leaves and this conker lying on the ground

23-08-14 049

Conker

Conker

But seeing this wee Robin and a family of spugs made me smile

Cock o' the North - Robin

Cock o’ the North – Robin

 

Sparrows

Tree Sparrows

So, even though I thought I hadn’t seen much on my 5 hr wander today, looking back I had quite a pleasant day

Posted on August 28, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Literary fiction by Sam McColl

I'm a literary novelist. I'll be musing on everything related and unrelated...

Scottish Wild Beavers

Wild Beavers in Scotland, supported by the Scottish Wild Beaver Group (SCIO) SCO42626

Loch of the Lowes Wildlife Blog

Perthshire is a wonderous place full of amazing wildlife and incredible scenery, read about all my wanderings around Big Tree county and I hope I inspire you to follow some of my walks and hopefully you will share the same sights that I have encountered :-)

Wildlife Detective

The blog of Alan Stewart

