A mixed bag

To say I’ve had a mixed week is to truly point out the obvious. From spending an excellent Saturday evening with family, to then realising my efforts on FB were a bit dodgy to say the least. I decided to leave my FB page for a wee bit due to health issues, generally this nasty depression shit that has cursed me this past wee while. Anyway, as alluded to, it’s been a mixed bag of a week, which as I said started with a lovely Saturday evening with my family. Sunday started great with a few pics of this buzzard,

buzzard

………….love them regardless of their recent abundance, but still a raptor that I have to photograph if given the chance, and why not? Quality bird, true survivor.

Canada geese are always a fave of mine as well, due to the fact I CAN recognise them!!!!

canada goose

So Sunday merged, as it does, into Monday, rubbish day tbh, sleet, snow, rain which just really manifested into a deeper feeling of gloom. Sorry guys, not my usual up-beat self but life sometimes really sucks! HOWEVER, of to a new job on the Wednesday cleaning a bit of Perth lade, Lord don’t take my words in vain but ffs, depression just hit a new depth!!! I appeared and was met with a sight that really broke my heart

DSCF7543

Seeing this abomination should really be a matter for the police or council to take up, but regardless of the politics, it really cut me to the bone. What could live in a crappy hole like this? Well, you’d really be surprised. A pair of electro-fishers contracted in had seen a Water Rail!!!!!!!!!!!! NO SHIT, but I got a fleeting glimpse myself and could not believe it.

 

Water Rail - courtesy D Gow

Water Rail – courtesy D Gow

Not only that, a dog otter feeding pretty much daily at the outlet of the Goodlyburn (again, fleeting glimpse), kingfishers (yeah, I know, boring but another fleeting glimpse) bloody frustrating to me tbh. However, on an upside I did get pics of these guys

Shrew

Shre

 

Puddock

Puddock

Eel

Eel

I rescued quite a number of eels, though they are quite a hardy breed. I think I threw over 20 back into the lade on Wednesday alone. Add a few toads, frogs and a puckle sticklebacks, I felt I did OK over and above my real job.

Had a really rubbish day on the Thursday, questioning everything but thanks to my pal bolstering me and a chance sighting of 2 beavers by the Ericht, which typically I remembered to forget my camera!!!!!!!!!!!! amounted to another missed opportunity. Hey, life goes on one way or another. Away to bed but listening to Joey B as I’m writing this, quality musician, feel good dude even though he plays the blues. Take care guys xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted on March 13, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Literary fiction by Sam McColl

I'm a literary novelist. I'll be musing on everything related and unrelated...

Scottish Wild Beavers

Wild Beavers in Scotland, supported by the Scottish Wild Beaver Group (SCIO) SCO42626

Loch of the Lowes Wildlife Blog

Perthshire is a wonderous place full of amazing wildlife and incredible scenery, read about all my wanderings around Big Tree county and I hope I inspire you to follow some of my walks and hopefully you will share the same sights that I have encountered :-)

Wildlife Detective

The blog of Alan Stewart

